Back to All Events

NCH Chamber Music Gathering

NCH Chamber Music Gathering:  Saturday 7th January 2017
The National String Quartet Foundation, in association with the National Concert Hall, is delighted to announce the first NCH Chamber Music Gathering.
Bringing together several generations of Ireland’s finest string players, the NCH Chamber Music Gathering builds on the work of the Vanbrugh Quartet's mentoring programme at the West Cork Chamber Music Festival and its teaching in Cork and Dublin.
Following three days of intensive rehearsal the event culminates in three concerts on Saturday January 7 featuring eight masterpieces of the chamber music repertoire. Playing alongside the rising stars of Irish classical music will be the country’s leading professional string players, offering a unique array of ensembles in a wonderful day of great music. 

11.00            Kevin Barry Recital Room

Mozart    String Quintet No.4 in G minor K.516
Patrick Rafter & Anna Cashell: violin
Cian O Duill and Robin Panter: viola
Aoife Burke: cello

Brahms String Sextet No.1 in B flat Op.18
Elizabeth Cooney & Siun Milne: violin
Ed Creedon & David Kenny: viola
Christopher Ellis & Eugene Lamy Alves, cello

13.05            John Field Room

Boccherini        Cello Quintet in E major
Ioana Petcu Colan & Mia Cooper: violin
Lucy Nolan: viola
Brian O’Kane & Yseult Cooper Stockdale: cello

Dvorak     Viola Quintet in E flat Op.97
Elaine Clarke  & Siobhan Doyle: violin
Martin Moriarty & Alison Comerford: viola
Aoife Nic Athlaoich: cello

Schubert    Cello Quintet in C major D.956
Mairead Hickey & Anna Cashell, violin
Neasa Ní Bhriain, viola
Christopher Marwood & William Butt, cello

16.30    The Studio

Beethoven    Viola Quintet in C Op.29    
Michael d’Arcy & Elizabeth Cooney, violin
David Kenny & Nathan Sherman, viola
Sinead O’Halloran, cello

Brahms    Viola Quintet Op.111
Mia Cooper & Siobhan Doyle, violin
Robin Panter and Ed Creedon, viola
Brian O’Kane, cello

Mendelssohn    Octet in E flat Op.20
Gwendolyn Masin,  Ioana Petcu Colan, Siun Milne & Patrick Rafter: violin
Cian O Duill & Lucy Nolan, viola
Eugene Lamy Alves & Killian White, cello