The National String Quartet Foundation's Autumn season 2018 presents concert series in Cork, Limerick and Dublin. In addition we present these concerts in Kilkenny, Thurles and Co. Leitrim

Saturday October 6th 2018 at 8pm - PARADE TOWER, KILKENNY CASTLE

Magnus Johnston, violin
Marije Johnston, viola
Simone van der Giessen, violin
Brian O’Kane, cello

Haydn: String Quartet No. 2 in C major, Op.20
Pēteris Vasks: String Quartet No.4
Schubert: String Quartet No.15 in G major, D. 887

The Navarra Quartet enjoys an international reputation as one of today’s most dynamic and poetic string quartets. Prizewinners at competitions in Canada, Australia and Italy, their line-up includes Irish cellist Brian O’Kane. They will play one of Haydn’s charming yet sophisticated early quartets, Latvian composer Peteris Vasks’ richly atmospheric fourth quartet and Schubert’s epic, monumental G major string quartet.

Friday 19th October 2018  at 8pm - THE SOURCE ARTS CENTRE, THURLES

Matthew Denton, violin
Michelle Fleming, violin
Eoin Schmidt-Martin, viola
Emma Denton, cello
Beethoven: String Quartet No. 4 in C minor, Op. 18
Donnacha Dennehy:    ‘Pushpulling’
Philip Glass: String Quartet No. 3 “Mishima”
Mendelssohn: String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80

The versatile and award-winning Anglo-Irish Carducci Quartet was founded in 1997 and has won numerous international competitions, including the Concert Artists Guild Competition 2007 and Finland’s Kuhmo International Chamber Music Competition 2004. Their Naxos recordings of Philip Glass’ Quartets have had over six million plays on Spotify and they will play his popular third quartet in this programme alongside two classical masterpieces – Beethoven’s early, stormy, C minor quartet, and Mendelssohn’s late, tragic, F minor quartet. Donnacha Dennehy’s intriguing ‘Pushpulling’ from 2007 completes a compelling programme.

Saturday 1st December at 8pm - THE GLENS CENTRE, MANORHAMILTON, Co. LEITRIM

Mia Cooper, violin
Anna Cashell, violin
Joachim Roewer, viola
William Butt, cello

Boccherini: String Quartet in E flat major, Op. 26 No. 4
Shostakovich: Two Pieces For String Quartet: (Elegy & Polka)
Sebastian Adams: String Quartet No. 2
Grieg: String Quartet No.1 in G minor, Op. 27

 The Esposito Quartet comprises four of our most distinguished musicians with a combined wealth of experience as recital artists, orchestral leaders and teachers, whose common love of the quartet treasury brought them together in 2010. Their programme includes one of Boccherini’s joyous quartets, two short gems by Shostakovich including the wonderfully silly Polka, rising composer Sebastian Adams’ second quartetand the great 1877 G minor quartet by Grieg, which, he wrote, ‘aims at breadth, to soar, and above all at a vigorous sound for the instruments for which it is written’.

These concerts are supported by the Arts Council through its Arts Grant Scheme